A Celebration of Sisterhood

Dear Sisters,

It is a great honor to write to you today, Founder’s Day 2012!

The foundation, the very core of our sisterhood, is the amazing women who are members of this Sorority. Your hard work and perseverance against the toughest of odds have brought us to this point. Today, on our 15th anniversary, I want to say “Thank You”. Each of you deserves a round of applause for the organization that you have helped to build.

I find myself especially nostalgic today. As I write this message, I realize that I joined Theta Nu Xi thirteen years ago! I remember Cori Ahrens (Alpha, Spring 1998), the first sister I met; I remember Janelle Poe—who would become my Grand Big—the first Founding Monarch I met; and I remember the interest meeting I attended with only ONE other aspirant. When we met, so many years ago, I had no idea that Jerri Kallam would become my line sister and a future President of the Sorority. Thirteen years later, women come to the same classrooms to hear us talk about Theta Nu Xi. And, thirteen years from now, I look forward to hearing the stories these women will share about their experiences as sisters.

The greatest aspect of sisterhood is when it evolves into something more. If we are lucky, the values, rituals, and memories that bind us together as members of this Sorority transform into the life experiences that make us a family.  This is sisterhood at its finest.

During your anniversary celebrations this week, I hope you will take some time to appreciate your Theta Nu Xi family. It is hard to build, maintain, expand, protect, and revolutionize a Sorority while having to take care of ourselves and each other.  Sometimes, we become so engrossed in operations, policies, and procedures that we take for granted the sisterhood that started it all. Sisterhood is our foundation.  It is what we return to when times are tough, and it is what we celebrate today on our 15th anniversary.

Happy anniversary to Theta Nu Xi; Happy 15th anniversary to true sisterhood!

ONE Love,

Cianti Stewart-Reid, National President

#2 Steel Magnolia

Alpha Chapter, Spring 1999